#Autism Advocacy and Parenting; A Good Read: Asperger’s (#Autism Spectrum Disorder)

Originally posted June 2, 2013 

 

aspergers sydrome a good read autism awareness support parenting

I’ve been reading this book honestly off and on since early 2011. I received this book from a Special Education Teacher at my son’s school. I worked with her for my CDA residency requirements in the aftercare program and during that time we learned a lot from each other. I learned that her daughter was also diagnosed with Autism and that this book was one of the many resources that she utilized to further assist her.

As I began to read the book, I noticed similarities in the descriptions about the children who had been diagnosed with Asperger’s; as in my son who was diagnosed with High Functioning Autism (HFA).

I soon was excited by the fact that I was already doing most of what the book suggested, since I’m a product of Special Education myself and I know all too well about what can happen when the ball is dropped, or it wasn’t picked up to begin with.

This book has not only provided me with information that I wasn’t aware of; it comforted me knowing that decisions I’d already made and were in the process of making, were on the right path!

I believe no matter where your child is on the Autism Spectrum you can benefit from this book.

