Awesome With #Autism

Originally Posted Friday, June 21, 2013

Agile
Wonderful
Eccentric
Smart
Opportunistic
Mature
Extraordinary with Autism, speaks for itself!Don’t allow anyone, including yourself, cause you to feel, believe, or accept anything opposing.I created this as an essential and founding piece of Jr’s self esteem. I need Jr to accept and embrace who he is; in addition to identifying the characteristics associated with Autism which “labels” some of who he is.

In my opinion, Autism like “Dr.,” is a label, used to specifically identify certain types of backgrounds and characteristics in certain types of individuals; not them entirely.

I do not believe or accept that Autism is the person. I only accept it as an identifying label, not a biography.

We as parents have to embrace the label, and demand respect for it; as we do with Dr.

Instead of saying things like: my child is Autistic or my child suffers from Autism. Try saying: “I have a child who has been (diagnosed with) labeled with Autism; I have an Awesome child with Autism; or I have a child who has Autism.”

By saying this we unconsciously and eventually consciously feel “positive” in regards to our children’s behaviors (Characteristics) and diagnosis.

We also begin to act and react positively. To naturally establish and maintain self esteem, a child diagnosed with Autism has to see, hear, and feel your positive-ness; in order for them to reciprocate.

“YOUR CHILD IS AWESOME WITH AUTISM”

HBIC_PHILANTHROPY

