#Autism & #Obstacles

Originally Posted Saturday, September 14, 2013

As the Mother & Advocate of a  child diagnosed with #Autism, who also has #Bipolar Disorders & #PTSD; we both face “obstacles” every moment of everyday. We have to overpower our private or racing thoughts; our anger, our anxiety, & our fears especially. Our redundant obstacles are: energy (having too much or too little),  communication & comprehension (sometimes neither of us completely understand each other or those around us), time management (if not in a time controlled situation/environment we WILL lose track).

 There’s no “special remedy or trick” to prevent or deal with them. It differs per child, obstacle, situation/environment.
When I’m faced with an obstacle directly related to #Jr’s #Autism diagnosis, I usually try to work through it. I have several methods I use. I do have moments where I reach a “temporary” breaking point, like Thursday, Sept. 12, 2013.
#Jr & I didn’t make progress until “after” my breaking point was reached, I emotionally exploded, discussed my issue with him, planned for the future, presented it, prayed on it, & proceeded.
I’m noticing that because #Jr’s self esteem is increasing, he’s also become witty & tactful, yet not always efficient. With me being who I am #Virgo & having #Bipolar Disorders & #PTSD “efficiency is essential with me!” I’m finding that “visual supports & time management” must not only be reintroduced but maintained according to his needs & wants. There has to be balance, consequences, & incentives (rewards) without them feeling overwhelmed.
The end result (what I offer you):
*#Jr admitted he didn’t listen to me (he couldn’t clearly explain why. Children with #Autism may not be able to clearly or completely explain things; especially if their anticipating discipline or disappointment.)
*#Jr also understood “he has to listen completely” before he starts doing. Meaning he needs to be aware that all instructions or responses won’t be abrupt & he has to listen attentively & be patient.
*#Jr understands the “importance” of responding to me the 1st time I call his name. I explained if you won’t respond in the house, how can I trust that you’ll respond in public? We agreed he would come to see what I want.
*#Jr was already great at saying no, I don’t like or want that, etc. So I encouraged him to continue using his words to describe his thoughts & feelings.
#Jr is aware his evening schedule is going to change but not for a week, maybe even two. I need to give his school bus & myself more time to adjust. I need more pictures also. He’s too old to keep using the plain, black & white visual supports. Using familiar, real life portraits make the best visual supports for #Jr because he takes more pride in them, therefore paying more attention & adhering to them.
Every child diagnosed on the #Autism Spectrum is different, despite how similar they can be. We as parents, must remain proud & faithful. If you’re a Parent & Advocate, I suggest continuing your education in the fields of Early Childhood & Special Needs.
Trust me! Trust me, I repeat. Obtaining my CDA which qualifies me to be an Assistant Teacher (initially) practically anywhere in the USA, was & indefinitely is one of the best decisions I’ve made to assist my son & other families.
Be patient. Know that what they can do or say today, they honestly may not be able to do tomorrow. Remember their stressed out. Children with #Autism are like “satellite dishes” they pick up everything, they process everything, yet we often times don’t properly care for them, then we panic when there’s static or a blank screen.
Be patient. I can’t stress patience enough.
Don’t be afraid to stand your ground against anyone who challenges you on what you “know or feel” about your child or children.
Try your own techniques. The “professionals” were once “amateurs or novice thinkers” so don’t be afraid to brainstorm. You’ll shock & impress yourself simultaneously.
“With #Autism we must convert every obstacle into an opportunity for advancement.”
With L♥ VE & Optimism,

HBIC_PHILANTHROPY

