Sensory overload and what can be done #SpecialNeeds #Autism

Jr hasn’t experienced many sensory overloads, yet I’m beginning to see them occur more frequently here lately.

I’m noticing after he’s been on any electronic device for 30+ minutes and then attempts to watch TV, he begins to blink (Autism Tics) a tad involuntarily. I’ll have him put his head down, I’ll turn the TV off so that the room is dark and he can desensitize and reboot.

Other times I have to turn down the “backlight” on the TV because these new TV’s are  “extremely” bright! I have Bipolar and I find myself desperately awaiting Jr and his father to leave so that I can desensitize and reboot by turning the TV completely off for hours and with not using my other electronic devices during that downtime.

It works! With the things that technology helps Jr do, it does hurt him simultaneously.

I’m currently in the process of getting “Special glasses” to help protect his eyes against “Autism Tics, general sensory overloads” in these conditions that bright lights, electronic devices and even the natural sunlight cause.

In addition to protecting his eyes I remain mindful that his body needs to reboot. Jr gets bathed and I massage his back and feet to put him at ease weekly and to keep his touch issues to a minimum because we’ve come a long way opening him up to receiving and reciprocating touch.
He also is made to take naps whenever I notice he’s “hyper” in comparison to his “routine” behavior, he’s being a little rebellious either on purpose because his intellect is advanced or unconsciously because with Autism he doesn’t always “fully comprehend” the world around him.

There are times his attention to detail lack, it’s usually during an overload. It’s rarely because he’s rushing unless it’s directly related to school or homework.

We also maintain a healthy diet and exercise routine as realistically and conveniently possible given his “Special needs!”

Jr has always loved to run! Omg! He’s walked since he was 6 months and he’s been a mover! He still loves to exercise. He loves to do pushups, sit-ups, run, jump rope, play basketball, play soccer, play tennis, and now he’s swimming. Not efficiently yet, but nonetheless my son is swimming!
I still can’t! Lmao

Jr has always loved salad. I recall him being around six or seven months old and grabbing my fork from my Booeymonger salad and he ate as if he’d been here before and knew exactly what it was. I Smh Lmao thinking, thank God that’s one less thing I’ll have to try and make him eat.

He’s always loved collard greens, broccoli, macaroni and cheese, turkey, chicken breast. It took him a while to grow on peas. I still Lmao thinking about him at six months after my husband showed me how to puree food versus wasting money on Gerber food. Jr tossed the bowl of puree peas back at me. I was livid because not only was his damned aim seemingly perfect, he looked at me as if he were thinking “don’t you dare put them back down” so I fixed him another bowl and stared at him saying “these are good for you, at least try to eat them or you’ll get no juice!” Well the rest is obvious. He eats peas.

We’ve even gotten him to try Asparagus. He liked it the first time but not since. He’s tried tilapia he likes that and salmon. He loves when his father makes Salmon Rice and Dill Sauce.

My point in all this is, we as parents must learn to identify “the signs” especially the small signs of our child nearing or having a sensory overload.

Maintain a healthy diet. Don’t be afraid to introduce new foods. You must “consistently” introduce new foods otherwise they’ll ONLY eat what they prefer or have grown accustomed to. That can be good and bad. Good because you’ll never doubt what they want. Bad because you could be enabling them to become picky later or closed mind.

You must also maintain a healthy physical routine. We all need exercise. I’ve found that exercise and free play especially outdoors is almost like Chamomile tea. Once Jr has exercised he’s only hyper temporarily but once his heart rate decreases, he calms down. If I give him a bath after his exercise or free play he’s calm the rest of the evening and he sleeps great!

Pay attention parents. Our children “actions” often tell us more than their “words” could ever articulate.

Be encouraged. Remember my motto: ” #Autism isn’t a disability, it’s the ability to see and experience the world differently!”

HBIC_PHILANTHROPY 👑

