#Autism #Advocacy and what that means to me

image

My #Autism Advocacy began in 2010, after my son Jr was diagnosed with Autism; high functioning with a speech delay.

Please note I’ve advocated for Mental Health Illnesses and Special Needs/Developmental Delays since 1999; upon being diagnosed with Bipolar Disorders I and II myself.

From 2010, going forward I’ve since prided myself with remaining abreast to the laws, events, businesses supporting, businesses employing and more surrounding individuals with Autism and their families and professionals in the field.

My goal is to throughout my life “educate” people by choice or force.

By choice meaning you “are intrigued by me, so you seek out information about me etc” by force because you’ll see and respect the accomplishments that I make through my son and as an individual!

Whether you like my tone, approach, methods etc.

I’ve assisted other parents with coming to terms with the diagnosis and what the behavioral characteristics it identifies, the resources, therapeutic and educational services entails.

I’ve taken part in bombarding NY Officials regarding the #AvonteLaw, unfortunately following the disappearance and death of Avonte Oquendo; a severely Autistic teenager.

The #AvonteLaw ensures residents receives “monitoring devices” for their Special Needs child. The device is optional. Please Google Avonte Law for details.

I’ve also opened the minds of educators inside and outside my son’s school regarding their methods.

Every second of everyday I think of ways to improve not only my son’s life, but the lives of others.

My expertise is with children who aren’t severely Autistic although in the near future I’m looking to obtain additional education and work experience working with those who are severe.

However, despite that limitation I’ve made major progress with my child.

I’ve assisted people with their children.

My desire is for Jr to be “independent” with a sense of normalcy in his life.

I’d love for him to be self employed one day, as I’m currently resuming my entrepreneurial endeavors.

Yet, honestly I’d still be proud to see him go straight through high school, into college, living independently and maintaining gainful employment that’s outside of entry level or the retail industry.
I often become livid because I’ve seen more “disabled” individuals in entry level positions, usually in the retail industry.

I become livid because think of my motto “Autism isn’t a disability, it’s the ability to see and experience the world differently!”

With that being said, I believe they should be in the “corporate industry and if in the retail or hospitality industries, they get to management/supervisory level!”

I still see “discrimination” even within the “appearance of compliance = a farce” regarding the Disabilities Act.

I believe employers are intimidated!

No! Actually, I know they are from my own experiences.

I know….. they can’t take the fact that most of the “disabled” are “enabled” with skills they couldn’t buy!!

I mean their minds are amazing.

I often find myself Lmao because Jr’s only going to be 8 years old in May, yet he’s more intelligent and intuitive than many adults I know or have known.

He understands things that I struggle with. Like he recently learned “Perimeters” in school. I “hate” math!! Ugh LOL

If it’s not counting my money, I can’t get it! It’s a mental block.

Mind you I was about to Google how to.. And he said “Mommy I know how to do it, let me show you.”

He did. I was shocked and impressed. Shocked because usually Jr needs to refresh his memory before he can “independently” complete an assignment involving a new skill learned.

However, I was impressed because once we’d checked online and with his father, Jr was right!!

I am happy with the progress we’ve made the past four years. I look forward to making more progress.

I look forward to continuing to live and lead by example.

I look forward to continuing to make a difference in the lives of everyone I encounter.

I look forward to teaching you all by choice or force.

I pray you all become “content” with knowing our children were chosen to make a difference in the world.

Never be discouraged, always be encouraged.

Learn my motto and remember it..

“Autism isn’t a disability, it’s the ability to see and experience the world differently!”

HBIC_PHILANTHROPY 👑

