#Autism and Appetites

image

image

image

Above please see a few examples of some of the food that most of the time Jr “repeatedly” eats.

We’ve had a “few” occasions where we were able to introduce new food.

I’ve learned from Jr and a F friend whose also diagnosed with Autism, that he acquired through Speech Therapy at school, that people, especially children (individuals) diagnosed with #Autism are very “specific” eaters.
Introducing new foods can be tiresome. It can also be fun and enjoyable if you remain open-minded and patient.

Usually we allow him to eat what is familiar and we’ll switch out one item in the meal and replace it with something he’s never ate before. I.e., I once made Tilapia with peas and rice, instead of Salmon. He loved it. He ate every bite.

Now Jr’s open to trying new foods. He recently told his father he wanted to try something new. His father made “homemade” potato wedges and fried fish. Jr loved it! He crushed the potato wedges! LOL

He currently prefers to “repeatedly” eat: eggs, bacon, cheese (sliced, cut into blocks), turkey lasagna, spaghetti and meat sauce (the turkey burger must be finely ground up), salad with turkey breast or chicken breast, pizza (prefers his father’s homemade pizza but will take the box or carryout), broccoli, peas, collard greens, strawberries, applesauce, rice, shrimp, crab legs, fish (baked or fried), Welch’s and Motts fruit snacks, asparagus, and more. His beverages are water, orange juice, sunny delight, fresca or sierra mist added to V8 splash berry blend or tropical to make “Mommy’s punch!” There’s more that he eats and drinks.

This is just an idea of how “consistent” yet broad his eating preferences are.

I tell people in advance just because he eats these things at home, doesn’t mean he’ll eat them at a Restaurant or at your home.

Again “he’s specific” so if the sight, smell, feel and taste aren’t to his standards, God forbid it’s all the above that failed. He will not eat!

He’ll wait until he’s home or in a comfort zone before eating. He also dislikes having a bowel movement in public which is another contributing factor.

I’d love to see Jr eat more, yet different food. I must admit his father and I are “specific eaters.” There’s certain food from certain people or places we simply won’t eat.

However even I “try” new foods from time to time.

I urge you to try and introduce new foods especially within the same food group. Like my example earlier, I replaced Salmon with Tilapia but I kept the rice and peas, so it wouldn’t be a drastic change.

Keep in mind you must factor in “a meltdown” and how to come back off it, IF your child has one during this change.

Also don’t ask more than twice if they like it!

Tell them in advance you intend on “introducing” a new food that you hope like because not only is it good for you, it taste good!

You may have to “create” your own unique dish. You may have to continue to go with what you know.

I urge you to me mindful of their sugar and bacon, eggs, and cheese intake as those can lead to cases of diabetes and high cholesterol.

Speak with chefs, your child or children’s pediatrician and other parents or professionals who work with children (individuals) diagnosed with Autism.

I also suggest speaking with people if you can the actual chef or cook at a hospital or nursing home kitchen because they specialize in cooking for people on various meal plans.

I’ve considered doing that myself but thankfully my father and husband are Chef’s by trade so my help was inclusive of my life decisions and relationships.

I’ve also Googled meals titled reduce cholesterol, reduce calories etc to assist me in planning meals.

It became easier once I accepted the reality that Jr may never eat certain foods, just as I haven’t.

I only recently ate Calamari at a cousin’s graduation celebration because my Great Aunt insisted that “I try something new without asking what it is, etc” so I did.

It was great! Now once I found out what it really was, I Lmao because had I known that initially I wouldn’t have tried it.

Sometimes with our children it’s best to not say what it is and see if they’ll try it anyway. You just might luck up.

Jr starting eating filet mignon, salad and collard greens and many other food items simply from going on my plate being curious while I’m trying to feed him food that I’d puree.

It was like he was intrigued enough to try it. He still does it. He actually eats strawberries now as a result. He actually eats meat loaf as a result.

Again things take time. What’s meant to change will and what isn’t won’t. Don’t be discouraged and don’t be pushy.

Be subtle, innovative and persistent but accepting ultimately.

The worst thing you can do is curve their entire appetite by disapproving of their food choices.

Remember my motto: “Autism isn’t a disability, it’s the ability to see and experience the world differently!”

HBIC_PHILANTHROPY

